Inaugural Jazz Music Awards

Inaugural Jazz Music Awards

There are country award shows and hip-hop award ones, Latin Grammys and beyond — so why hasn’t there been a televised jazz music award show to look forward to every year?

That changes on Jan. 1 when the inaugural Jazz Music Awards hits PBS member station Georgia Public Broadcasting (GPB) at 7 p.m. Eastern for television viewers across the state and streamers everywhere. The show was previously recorded at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre in Atlanta in 2022.

In Georgia, the first-ever televised Jazz Music Awards will be viewable on WGTV-TV (Atlanta/Athens), WNGH-TV (Chatsworth), WMUM-TV (Macon), WJSP-TV (Columbus), WACS-TV (Dawson), WABW-TV (Albany), WVAN-TV (Savannah), WXGA-TV (Waycross) and WCES-TV (Augusta).

Additionally, the Jazz Music Awards will be available to stream on PBS’s on demand service, PBS Passport.

The two-hour ceremony is hosted by Grammy- and Tony Award winner Dee Dee Bridgewater and celebrated stage and screen actor Delroy Lindo. Bridgewater is one of the show’s eight performers, which also includes Dianne Reeves, Kenny Garrett, Orrin Evans, Ledisi, Somi, Lizz Wright, Braxton Cook, Brandee Younger, Jazzmeia Horn, The Baylor Project, and Lindsey Webster.

“Jazz music, although this is the original music form that comes from the United States, has always been a kind of stepchild when it comes to award shows,” says Bridgewater.

She believes televising the Jazz Music Awards is an opportunity to highlight the genre, as well as become something people who may not know a lot about jazz — as well as those who keep the music alive — to join. “I hope it puts the music and art in the forefront in a way that will entice people to want to experience some live jazz.”

Read Original Article

Skip to content